Dodgers clinch 7th straight NL West title
Patrick Smith / Getty Images Sport / Getty

The Los Angeles Dodgers officially clinched their seventh straight NL West division title with a 7-3 win over the Baltimore Orioles on Tuesday.

Caleb Ferguson struck out Mark Trumbo to set off the celebration in the visitors' clubhouse at Camden Yards.


It's the Dodgers' 19th division crown since divisional play began in 1969. Their soon-to-be seventh straight postseason appearance also marks the third-longest streak in MLB history, trailing only the New York Yankees (13, 1995-2007) and Atlanta Braves (14, 1991-2005), according to Bill Shaikin of the Los Angeles Times.

Additionally, Dodgers manager Dave Roberts is the first skipper in MLB history to win division titles in each of his first four seasons on the job, according to Mark Feinsand of

The Sept. 10 clinch in their 146th contest of the campaign marks the Dodgers' earliest clinch by both date and number of games remaining since they moved to Los Angeles, according to Eric Stephen of TrueBlueLA. They clinched the 1955 NL pennant while still in Brooklyn on Sept. 8 of that year with 16 games remaining, albeit in a 154-game schedule. The team needed 163 games to wrap up last year's NL West title.

Despite their franchise-record string of playoff berths, the Dodgers haven't been able to win the World Series in recent years, losing each of the last two fall classics. Their last championship came in 1988.

Though the Arizona Diamondbacks can no longer win the division, the club is still in playoff contention. Arizona lost to the New York Mets Tuesday, temporarily dropping three games behind the Chicago Cubs for the second NL wild-card spot.

Dodgers clinch 7th straight NL West title
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox