Eovaldi upset after controversial non-strike call sparks Astros' big inning

Maddie Meyer / Getty Images Sport / Getty

Boston Red Sox right-hander Nathan Eovaldi thought he struck out Houston Astros catcher Jason Castro to get out of the ninth inning of Game 4 of the ALCS with the score tied. However, home plate umpire Laz Diaz called the 1-2 breaking pitch a ball.

Castro laced a go-ahead RBI single two pitches later, which kicked off a huge seven-run ninth for Houston to level the series at two games apiece. Eovaldi was charged with four earned runs in his first relief appearance since 2019.

"Yeah, I thought it was a strike, but, again, I'm in the moment," Eovaldi said following Tuesday's contest, according to Doug Alden of The Associated Press.

Red Sox manager Alex Cora said Eovaldi was upset over the call.

"I got to take a look. Yeah. A lot of people thought it was a strike," the skipper said.

Eovaldi acknowledged he can't let what the umpire does impact his ability to perform on the mound.

"You're going to get calls that go your way and some that don't go your way," Eovaldi said. "Our job is to go out there and keep attacking the zone. Whether we get a pitch that goes our way or it doesn't, we have to move on to the next pitch and not let it affect us and keep attacking the strike zone."

The best-of-seven series resumes Wednesday with a pivotal Game 5 at Fenway Park.

Comments
Eovaldi upset after controversial non-strike call sparks Astros' big inning
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox