Luka Garza wins 2021 Wooden Award
Rey Del Rio / Getty Images Sport / Getty

Iowa center Luka Garza is the recipient of the 2021 Wooden Award, it was announced Tuesday.

Garza becomes the consensus national player of the year by winning all of the major individual accolades. The senior was also recognized as the Naismith College Player of the Year, Associated Press Men's Player of the Year, NABC Player of the Year, The Lute Olson National Player of the Year, and the Sporting News Player of the Year, and he was awarded the Oscar Robertson Trophy.

"Winning the Wooden Award means so much to myself and my family. John Wooden was someone my grandfather was friends with, and someone who I was taught a lot about growing up," Garza said in a statement. "I studied the pyramid, and many of his books to try and become the teammate and player that could win a championship."

Garza ranked first in the country in points (747) and player efficiency rating (35.8). He eclipsed his previously held single-season school points record he set last season (740).

The first-team All-American and two-time Big Ten Player of the Year winner finishes his Hawkeyes career with the seventh-most points (2,306) scored by a player in Big Ten history and the most in school history.

Luka Garza wins 2021 Wooden Award
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox